Sunbeam Rapier Owners Club
Sunbeam Rapier Owners Club
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 Technical
 Help!
 Loss of coolant

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Insert an Image File

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Bodiam Posted - 16 Dec 2018 : 14:25:27
Hi, I’m new to the world of Rapiers, having picked up my 1963 111A last Monday. I have a problem which I hope someone can guide me with.

As soon as the engine starts to warm up, it dumps water out of the overflow until the top radiator tank is empty. Topping up results in the same thing again after a few minutes. There is no water in the oil, nor oil in the water, nor is there any steam from the exhaust. It isn’t possible to see if there are any air bubbles in the top tank with the rad cap off as it gushes over the radiator neck as soon as the thermostat opens, it seems.

I have tried a NOS AC Delco 4lb cap in the hope it might be a simple cure, but no luck.

I’m thinking along the lines of a head gasket bleeding combustion gases into the water and over pressuring the system but would be very grateful for any guidance anyone can give me on this.

I will introduce myself properly as soon as I can!

Many thanks, John

John D
15   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Bodiam Posted - 04 May 2019 : 09:29:17